Skip to content Skip to navigation

Speaker Bios

Christopher Henney

Ohio Agribusiness Association

Chris Henney joined the Ohio AgriBusiness Association in 2011 as the president and chief executive officer. OABA is a membership-based state trade association that can trace its history to 1880. Prior to joining OABA, Mr. Henney held several positions at the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, most recently as the director of legislative relations. Read more about Christopher Henney

Tami Hornbeck

Community Facilitator
Communities Unlimited

As a community facilitator for Communities Unlimited, Tami Hornbeck engages and enables the building of community capacity to pursue entrepreneurial opportunities and to develop, implement and sustain strategies that move communities toward prosperity. Trained as a WealthWorks value chain coordinator and coach, she has worked with the Arkansas Green Energy Network to implement a community-based bioenergy value chain strategy. Read more about Tami Hornbeck

Joe Hrdlicka

Executive Director
Iowa Biotechnology Association

Joe Hrdlicka attended the University of Missouri School of Journalism and worked in various political campaigns before coming to Iowa in 1992 to work for Rep. Jim Lightfoot. After his work with Lightfoot, Mr. Hrdlicka joined the marketing firm Strategic America as director of public relations. Following his tenure at Strategic America, he served 13 years with the Iowa Lottery. Read more about Joe Hrdlicka

Brent Jackson

North Carolina Senate

Senator Jackson was first elected to  the North Carolina Senate in 2010. He serves as Co-Chair, Senate Appropriations Committee and Vice Chair, Senate Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources Committee. He is also the founder, president and CEO of Jackson Farming Company

  Read more about Brent Jackson

Marge Kilkelly

Senior Policy Advisor
U.S. Senate, Office of Senator Angus King

Marge Kilkelly has a long history with the state legislature, SARL and CSG. Prior to her service as senior policy advisor with U.S. Senator Angus King, she served as assistant director of The Council of State Governments Eastern Regional Conference. She also once served as chair of the Agriculture Committee in the Maine House of Representatives and as chair of the Maine Senate Agriculture Committee. Ms. Read more about Marge Kilkelly

John Kuehn

Nebraska Senate

Dr. John Kuehn was  elected to Nebraska Legislature in 2014. He is a rancher, veterinarian and professor at Hastings College.
He is a former member of the board of directors of the Southern Power District. Read more about John Kuehn

John Lawrence

Associate Dean and Ag Director
Iowa State University

Since 2010, John Lawrence has  served as associate dean for extension in Iowa State University’s College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and as director for agriculture and natural resources for  Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Lawrence also serves as director of the Iowa Nutrient Research Center. He was a leader in collaborative efforts to develop Iowa’s Nutrient Reduction Strategy. Read more about John Lawrence

Lawrence MacAulay

Agriculture and Agrifood Canada

The Honourable Lawrence MacAulay was first elected to the House of Commons in 1988 to represent Cardigan and won his
ninth consecutive election in October 2015. His cabinet appointments have included solicitor general of Canada, minister of Labour, secretary of State (Veterans), and secretary of State. Read more about Lawrence MacAulay

Rory McAlpine

Senior Vice President
Maple Leaf Foods

Rory McAlpine has overall responsibility for working with government and industry partners on matters of public policy, programs, regulatory affairs and trade. Prior to joining the Maple Leaf Foods, Mr. McAlpine served as deputy minister of the British Columbia Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries from 2002 to 2005. Read more about Rory McAlpine

Murray McLaughlin

Bioindustrial Innovation Canada

Murray McLaughlin is president of McLaughlin Consultants and consults on the bioeconomy, agriculture and forestry sectors with respect to building the bioeconomy in Canada. He is an advisor to Bioindustrial Innovation Canada on international and government relations. Mr. McLaughlin was the founding executive director of BIC and the Sustainable Chemistry Alliance with a focus on a sustainable bioeconomy. Read more about Murray McLaughlin