Skip to content Skip to navigation


2016 Legislative Ag Chairs

Click here for a printable agenda

Denver, Colorado | January 8-10, 2016

Supporting Growth and Innovation

Friday, January 08, 2016  


Site Visits

4:00 pm

State efforts on Water Quality


States have been working on meeting water quality goals in a wide diversity of ways.  We will hear from Peggy Hall, a field specialist in Agriculture and Resource Law from Ohio State, Julia Anastasio, the Executive Director of the Association of Clean Water Administrators and Roger Wolf of the Iowa Soybean Association about different state efforts.  Special Guests Gary Baise or OFW law, Richael Young of Mammoth Trading and Senator Judy Warnick of Washington will comment on the water quality issue from their areas.

8:30 pm

Opening Keynote: Dan Glickman -The Challenges and Opportunities facing Agriculture


Executive Director of the Aspen Institute, former USDA Secretary and former Kansas Congressman

Saturday, January 09, 2015

8:00 am   

Plenary on Food


Consumer focus group and psychologist Drew Weston on consumers concerns about food. 

9:45 am

Breakout  I: Concurrent sessions


Farmland Taxation


Indiana Senator Jean Leising, Moderator


Katrina Hall, Director, State Government Relations, Indiana Farm Bureau


Peggy Hall, J.D. , Field Specialist, Agricultural & Resource Law, Ohio State University


Dr. Larry Janssen, South Dakota State University Agriculture Economics


The Opportunities and Challenges of an “All of the Above” Energy Policy


North Dakota Representative Wes Belter, Moderator


Hannah Breul, U.S. Energy Information Agency


Dave Lock , Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association, Inc.


Steve Bleyl, Executive Vice President, Green Plains Energy.   


Growing the Winery, Cider and Brewery Industries


Illinois Representative Norine Hammond, Moderator


Dr. Bart Watson, Brewers Association


Mike Beck, President, United States Cider Association


Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller, Texas 


Enhancing Trade and International Marketing, TPP and Trade Restrictions


North Carolina Senator Brent Jackson, Moderator


Jason Hafemeister, USDA-FAS Trade Policy Coordinator


Nathalie Durand, Director, Americas Division Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada


Tony Clayton, President Clayton Agri-Marketing, Inc.

11:30 am

Lunch –   Agriculture Trade, Let’s Keep a Good Thing Growing

1:00 pm

Breakout II: Concurrent Sessions


Water Scarcity


Kansas Senator Carolyn McGinn, Moderator


Richael Young, president Mammoth Trading


John Stulp, ‎Special Policy Advisor to the Governor for Water and Chairman of the IBCC 


Assemblyman James Perea, California


Emerging Threats; Avian Influenza, Citrus Greening and…"by failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail”


Iowa Senator David Johnson, Moderator


Dr. Beth Thompson, Minnesota Board of Animal Health


Dr. Leland S. Pierson, Professor and Head, Plant Pathology & Microbiology, Texas A&M  


What Limits Rural Growth and How to Address It


Representative Kevin Ryan, Moderator


Diane Smith, President American Rural


Loren Howard, Chief Executive Officer, San Luis Valley Rural Electric Co-op


Legalizing Marijuana and Hemp, Impacts and Issues


Alaska Representative Shelly Hughes, Moderator


Matty Mangone- Miranda, GenCanna CEO (Hemp)


Lewis Koski, Director, Marijuana Enforcement Division Colorado Dept. of Revenue


Ron Kammerzell, Senior Director, Marijuana Enforcement Division, CO Dept. of Revenue


Jenny Dresler, Director of State Public Policy, Oregon Farm Bureau


Breakout III: Concurrent Sessions


Animal Agriculture Challenges


Tennessee Representative Andy Holt, Moderator


Eric Parks, former undercover videographer


Dan Frank, Frank Law Office, Wyoming


Dan Murphy, Columnist


Dr. Egan Brockhoff Prairie Swine Health


Dealing with the Drug Issue in Rural Communities


 New Hampshire Representative Tara Sad, Moderator


Marisa Hebble, Director, Opioid Task Force 


Dr. Shannon M. Monnat, Pennsylvania State University


On the edge of rural: Forestry and Aquaculture and Value Added Products


Vermont Representative Carolyn Partridge, Moderator


Commissioner Michael C. Snyder, Vermont Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation


Donald B. Kent, President, Hubbs Sea World Research Institute

Sunday, January 10, 2015

9:00 am   

Federal Update


Michael Taylor, Deputy Director, FDA


Ron Carleton, Agriculture Liaison, EPA